Week 2 Cont….

Seems like lots of stuff has been going on in “week 2” so it deserves another post. Some of it fun (in an “oh that’s interesting” kind of way) and lots of stuff that can only be described as not fun and, well, a bit pants. Also, the comments have started which I will come onto in a bit.

First, I’ll address the fun stuff. My husband and I have started to get the books I ordered and they have provided hours of amusement already. I purchased:

  • The Expectant Dad’s Handbook: All you need to know about pregnancy, birth and beyond (not arrived yet)
  • The Expectant Dad’s Survival Guide: Everything You Need to Know by Kemp, Rob (not arrive yet)
  • Babies – Haynes Explains (Mini Manual) by Boris Starling (arrived and very funny).
  • The Unmumsy Mum by the same name. (arrived and very funny)
  • Commando Dad: How to be an Elite Dad or Carer. From Birth to Three Years by Sinclair, Neil (arrived and husband is thoroughly enjoying)
  • Hurrah for Gin: A book for perfectly imperfect parents by Kirby, Katie (arrived, not started yet)
  • How to Have a Baby and Not Lose Your Shit by Smith, Kirsty (arrived, not started yet)

I am aware that the above mix probably says more about our lifestyle and approach to this whole situation than anything else I have written so far.

What’s nice is that we have snuck off to bed (normally as I get “morning sickness” at 10:30pm WTAF!) and read chapters out loud to each other which has left us in fits of laughter and created a cool bonding experience while I try and not vomit on him. The books have been a good source of information although, to be honest, so far they haven’t said anything that we weren’t vaguely aware of, but I am pretty sure that’ll change the more we read.

My husband definitely knows less than me about the whole pregnancy process, but that’s due to women being forced fed information about babies, pregnancy, kids and everything that goes with it from the age of 6. It’s not his fault and it’s not something which I think is fair (more on that in other posts). However, credit where credit is due, he’s clearly reading stuff on the internet as well as when I mention feeling tired or sick or moody or like death he cheerfully tells me it’ll stop after a few months or makes suggestions on how to help.

The most tiresome symptom so far has been the sheer tiredness. I gamely assumed I’d still be running three times a week, rowing three times a week and have excess energy left over. This has not occurred so far. So far I have woken up tired due to not sleeping well, I then get really zombie tired around lunch time and that lasts until early afternoon and I then get tired again in the mid evening. It’s like running on 1/3 power.

We have also started on the that smells nice/that smells horrible get it away from me fun and games.

What smells nice:

  • Actually no idea what it was, but the café at the climbing wall was cooking something which smelt like oat cookies and I almost vaulted the counter to try and find out what it was.
  • Lemons, oranges, grapefruits – basically anything citrus. I get to walk through the fruit market twice a week on the way to work and that’s become sensory heaven (once I’ve passed the fish market)
  • My husband

What smells bad/makes me want to vomit:

  • My mother in laws perfume (cos that’s going to be really easy to hide, right)
  • My brother in law’s breath when drunk (although TBF that just might be in general)
  • Our shampoo
  • Our conditioner
  • My husband’s climbing shoes
  • Cigarette smoke
  • Any strong smell
  • Any smell that is now strong, but before I couldn’t smell (I’m now the human equivalent of a blood hound)
  • Our bedding
  • Feet

We have also started on the cravings:

  • Lemons (I ate a fucking lemon! Got that thing right down my neck and LOVED it)
  • Citrus
  • Salad
  • Fruit
  • Green vegetables

To be honest, none of the cravings bother me as it’s healthy so that’s fine and easy to hide. Although my husband has found the whole “lemon gate” to be highly amusing and has promised to go and buy me a bunch of lemons – the old romantic.

The worst thing about “week 2” has been the memory loss. It’s actually been quite scary/annoying at times. I met my friend for coffee in town and couldn’t remember where I’d parked my car, I then remembered and forgot again within a minute, then remembered and forgot and then finally made it to the car park (which is where I normally park) while muttering to myself over and over again the exact location of the car. I must have looked slightly odd. I have frequently got up to do something, walked ten paces and totally forgot I was doing which looks a tad weird at work. I must look like someone on some heavy drugs or with a weird twitch as I get up with a purposeful look and then gets misty eyed and slow down, come to a complete halt and then go and sit back down again. I thought baby brain started after the baby was born?!

And finally, the comments:

The people who have been informed of it (other than my two mates and husband) are the nurse, my new physiotherapist and a shop assistant. After I mentioned my rather aggressive pregnancy symptoms the nurse stated that “it was a blessing from God and wonderful and that she’d pray for me”, the physiotherapist said he’d send me God’s blessings and the shop assistant (when I asked if they had a maternity section) said no “but we have size extra-large if that’s of any use”.

I don’t believe in God, never have done and I cannot imagine I ever will. Not against people having their own faith, but not sure how I feel about Ellie being blessed or Ellie considered as a gift from God etc…. Gifts are normally nice and don’t make me sick, tired, angry, in pain and generally miserable. I was also confused as to why I should automatically go and buy extra-large clothes, but I’m taking her comment as well-meaning rather than a comment on my size (I’m a 12 although ATM I feel like a size 84).

I know that the comments will keep coming. The more people who know the more I’ll get told what I should and should not be doing. More opinions will be fostered on me and more people will feel the need to tell me their experiences. This is going to be hard for me as, while I accept that other women have had babies, other women have also got married or gone to Tesco so it doesn’t mean their experiences, needs, desires, wants, management strategies etc…. are the same as mine.

Let’s see what week 3 brings.

Leave a Reply

